Exmouth to Plymouth: Britain's Heritage Coast

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gary Holpin

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN: 1445621576

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 5012

The South Devon coast includes Dartmouth, Salcombe, Torquay, Paignton and Exmouth, as well as many other popular coastal locations. Exmouth marks the end of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage site. Popular with holidaymakers, Torquay and Paignton have been visited by holidaymakers since the 1800s. Designated as an Area of Outstanding Beauty, the South Devon coast features sandy beaches and hidden coves, as well as many popular Victorian seaside towns. Gary Holpin takes the reader on a journey along the entire length of the South Devon coast. This beautifully illustrated and informative book allows the reader to submerge themselves, whether on foot, bicycle, in a car or simply from the comfort of their own armchair, in the wealth of fascinating history and folklore as well as the outstanding beauty that lies along the banks of the coastline.

Devon

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Simon Heptinstall

Publisher: Crimson Publishing

ISBN: 185458426X

Category: Travel

Page: 320

View: 339

Many Brits are discovering the joys of holidaying on home soil, and Devon offers the best of Britain in one county. The council is also championing sustainable tourism to combat global warming and there are more green businesses and organic food producers here than anywhere in the UK. This unique guide is a valuable source of local information, to help visitors get the most out of the area in the time you have; be it a two-week holiday, short break or long weekend. Throughout the book, local people give their recommendations on where to find the best fish and chips, bike ride or secret path to a spectacular view, uncovering the Best of Britain. This guide includes practical information on a range of accommodation, the best places to eat, local festivals, events and activities as well as informing readers about the history, geology and culture of the area, with a ‘local heroes’ section of famous residents past and present. Informative maps are found throughout the book, including walking and climbing routes and children’s activities in the area. The book focuses on what makes this part of the south of England so special: from rolling countryside, picturesque villages with thatched cottages and majestic rivers such as the Torridge and Exe, to attractive fishing villages, thriving port towns and stunning beaches.

Slow Travel East Devon & The Jurassic Coast

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hilary Bradt,Janice Booth

Publisher: Bradt Travel Guides

ISBN: 1784770051

Category: Travel

Page: 256

View: 8487

Slow East Devon and the Jurassic Coast is the most comprehensive - and only standalone - guide available to this region. With publication timed to coincide with the opening of the Seaton Jurassic Centre, here is insider knowledge which can only be gained by living in the area. Contributions from local experts, and colourful and witty writing combined with the authors' enthusiasm, make this guide as much a pleasure to read as an invaluable companion for exploring. Exeter and the Exe Estuary get a chapter of their own, and parts of Mid Devon, including Tiverton, are covered in detail, along with East Devon's most alluring chunks of countryside and the seaside resorts of Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton and Beer. The chapter on West Dorset describes Lyme Regis and Charmouth along with brief descriptions of other coastal towns. An explanation of the geology of the entire World Heritage Site of the Jurassic Coast links the whole region. With an emphasis on car-free travel - walking, cycling and local buses - the detailed descriptions, historical and folk anecdotes, and personal accounts encourage visitors to explore each locale thoroughly. Hand-picked places to eat and drink, including all the eateries along the main artery of the A3052, are selected by the authors based upon long-standing knowledge of the area.

Coastal Towns Session 2005-06

Written Evidence

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Great Britain: Parliament: House of Commons: ODPM: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee

Publisher: The Stationery Office

ISBN: 9780215028419

Category: Law

Page: 181

View: 5638

Coastal Towns : Session 2005-06, Vol. 2: Written Evidence

Coastline

Britain's Threatened Heritage

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 200

View: 5958

Railway Day Trips: 160 classic train journeys around Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Julian Holland

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008241929

Category: Transportation

Page: 208

View: 9317

Fully updated essential guide to exploring Britain by train, Railway Day Trips is ideal for anyone planning or looking for inspiration for a rail journey. From bestselling railway author Julian Holland.

Worldwide Destinations

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brian Boniface, MA,Chris Cooper,Robyn Cooper

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136433155

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 656

View: 480

Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourism is a unique text that explores the demand, supply, organisational aspects and resources of every tourism destination in the world. This fifth edition is brought up to date with key features such as: An exploration of current issues such as climate change, economic capacity, "grey" tourism and social impacts New full colour interior, packed iwth helpful pedagogic features, including discussion points and assignements to encourage greater student involvement A companion website is now available at www.elsevierdirect.com/9780750689472 and includes interactive, multiple-choice questions for students to test their own learning A new and fully updated edition of Worldwide Destinations Casebook is also available with 38 in-depth cases to help bring textbook theory to life The book provides thematic chapters at the beginning which detail the geographical knowledge and principles required to understand how to approach the analysis of destinations. The further division of the book into thematic and regional chapters enables the student to carry out a systematic analysis of a particular destination. Worldwide Destinations: The Geography of Travel and Tourism is an invaluable resource for studying every destination in the world as well as the demand, resources and future of the geography of tourism. This thorough guide is a must-have for any tourism student.

Geology of the Jurassic Coast

The Red Coast Revealed : Exmouth to Lyme Regis

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Anthony Edwards

Publisher: Harbour Publishing

ISBN: 9780954484545

Category: Coasts

Page: 128

View: 7694

Nelson's Trafalgar

The Battle That Changed the World

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Roy Adkins

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440627290

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 2130

An explosive chronicle of history's greatest sea battle In the tradition of Antony Beevor's Stalingrad, Nelson's Trafalgar presents the definitive blow-by-blow account of the world's most famous naval battle, when the British Royal Navy under Lord Horatio Nelson dealt a decisive blow to the forces of Napoleon. The Battle of Trafalgar comes boldly to life in this definitive work that re-creates those five momentous, earsplitting hours with unrivaled detail and intensity.

German Invasion Plans for the British Isles, 1940

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bodleian Library

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781851243563

Category: History

Page: 88

View: 1255

I have decided to prepare a landing operation against England, and if necessary to carry it. — Adolf Hitler, 16 July 1940.Immediately after the fall of France in June 1940, Hitler ordered his generals to organize the invasion of Britain under a plan codenamed Operation Sealion. The objective was to land 160,000 German soldiers along a forty-mile coastal stretch of south-east England.Prior to the invasion, a complex set of documents had been drawn up, consisting of maps, aerial photographs, a physical description of the British Isles – region by region, statistics about roads, lists of strategic targets, and a short phrase book for the invading forces when it became necessary to fraternize with the local populace.This book brings together a selection of these documents and reproduces them in a handy-sized format. It includes aerial photographs of strategic sites, maps of the main urban centres (with identified targets), a detailed listing of British roads, advice for officers about how to mount an attack on each county, a brief description of the social composition of Britain, and a dictionary and phrase book. It also includes an introduction setting the material in its historical and military context.These invasion plans survive in very few numbers. This is the first time that a selection has been brought together, giving a remarkable insight into how the German army planned to invade Britain

Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens 2010

Castles and Heritage Sites

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Heritage House Group,Hudson's

Publisher: Heritage House

ISBN: 9780851014463

Category: Architecture

Page: 608

View: 5889

The definitive guide to Britain's historic houses, gardens, castles and heritage sites.

Wir kaufen einen Zoo

eine ganz normale Familie und ein verrückter Traum

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Benjamin Mee

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783442376414

Category:

Page: 319

View: 6468