Exmouth to Plymouth: Britain's Heritage Coast

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Gary Holpin

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN: 1445621576

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 558

The South Devon coast includes Dartmouth, Salcombe, Torquay, Paignton and Exmouth, as well as many other popular coastal locations. Exmouth marks the end of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage site. Popular with holidaymakers, Torquay and Paignton have been visited by holidaymakers since the 1800s. Designated as an Area of Outstanding Beauty, the South Devon coast features sandy beaches and hidden coves, as well as many popular Victorian seaside towns. Gary Holpin takes the reader on a journey along the entire length of the South Devon coast. This beautifully illustrated and informative book allows the reader to submerge themselves, whether on foot, bicycle, in a car or simply from the comfort of their own armchair, in the wealth of fascinating history and folklore as well as the outstanding beauty that lies along the banks of the coastline.

Devon

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Simon Heptinstall

Publisher: Crimson Publishing

ISBN: 185458426X

Category: Travel

Page: 320

View: 5603

Many Brits are discovering the joys of holidaying on home soil, and Devon offers the best of Britain in one county. The council is also championing sustainable tourism to combat global warming and there are more green businesses and organic food producers here than anywhere in the UK. This unique guide is a valuable source of local information, to help visitors get the most out of the area in the time you have; be it a two-week holiday, short break or long weekend. Throughout the book, local people give their recommendations on where to find the best fish and chips, bike ride or secret path to a spectacular view, uncovering the Best of Britain. This guide includes practical information on a range of accommodation, the best places to eat, local festivals, events and activities as well as informing readers about the history, geology and culture of the area, with a ‘local heroes’ section of famous residents past and present. Informative maps are found throughout the book, including walking and climbing routes and children’s activities in the area. The book focuses on what makes this part of the south of England so special: from rolling countryside, picturesque villages with thatched cottages and majestic rivers such as the Torridge and Exe, to attractive fishing villages, thriving port towns and stunning beaches.

Slow Travel East Devon & The Jurassic Coast

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hilary Bradt,Janice Booth

Publisher: Bradt Travel Guides

ISBN: 1784770051

Category: Travel

Page: 256

View: 4655

Slow East Devon and the Jurassic Coast is the most comprehensive - and only standalone - guide available to this region. With publication timed to coincide with the opening of the Seaton Jurassic Centre, here is insider knowledge which can only be gained by living in the area. Contributions from local experts, and colourful and witty writing combined with the authors' enthusiasm, make this guide as much a pleasure to read as an invaluable companion for exploring. Exeter and the Exe Estuary get a chapter of their own, and parts of Mid Devon, including Tiverton, are covered in detail, along with East Devon's most alluring chunks of countryside and the seaside resorts of Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton and Beer. The chapter on West Dorset describes Lyme Regis and Charmouth along with brief descriptions of other coastal towns. An explanation of the geology of the entire World Heritage Site of the Jurassic Coast links the whole region. With an emphasis on car-free travel - walking, cycling and local buses - the detailed descriptions, historical and folk anecdotes, and personal accounts encourage visitors to explore each locale thoroughly. Hand-picked places to eat and drink, including all the eateries along the main artery of the A3052, are selected by the authors based upon long-standing knowledge of the area.

Coastal Towns Session 2005-06

Written Evidence

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Great Britain: Parliament: House of Commons: ODPM: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee

Publisher: The Stationery Office

ISBN: 9780215028419

Category: Law

Page: 181

View: 8236

Coastal Towns : Session 2005-06, Vol. 2: Written Evidence

Coastline

Britain's Threatened Heritage

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 200

View: 2320

Railway Day Trips: 160 classic train journeys around Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Julian Holland

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008241929

Category: Transportation

Page: 208

View: 9327

Fully updated essential guide to exploring Britain by train, Railway Day Trips is ideal for anyone planning or looking for inspiration for a rail journey. From bestselling railway author Julian Holland.

Lonely Planet Reiseführer England

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Neil Wilson

Publisher: Mair Dumont DE

ISBN: 3829798431

Category: Travel

Page: 1086

View: 4523

Lonely Planet E-Books sind besonders praktisch für unterwegs und sparen Gewicht im Reisegepäck! E-Book basiert auf: 2. Auflage 2017 Mit dem Lonely Planet England auf eigene Faust unterwegs auf der königlichen Insel, die so viel zu bieten hat: Ruinen aus der Römerzeit, mittelalterliche Kathedralen, Englische Gärten, Postkartendörfer, aber auch moderne Kunst und Architektur in den Großstädten - nehmen Sie sich Zeit für die Vielzahl an Sehenswürdigkeiten. Etliche Monate Recherche stecken im Kultreiseführer für Individualreisende. Auf rund 770 Seiten geben die Autoren sachkundige Hintergrundinfos zum Reiseland, liefern Tipps und Infos für die Planung der Reise, beschreiben alle interessanten Sehenswürdigkeiten mit aktuellen Öffnungszeiten und Preisen und präsentieren ihre persönlichen Entdeckungen und Tipps. Und wo unterwegs aktiv werden, essen und schlafen? Für jeden größeren Ort gibt es eine Auswahl an Unterkünften und Restaurants für jeden Geschmack und Geldbeutel sowie Vorschläge für sportliche Aktivitäten. Abgerundet wird der Guide durch Übersichts- und Detailkarten, ein Farbkapitel mit 20 Top-Erlebnissen, bunte 3D-Ansichten der Highlights, Reiserouten, Hintergrundthemen und - damit Sie gut durch‘s Land kommen - einen Sprachführer. Der Lonely-Planet-Reiseführer England ist ehrlich, praktisch, witzig geschrieben und liefert inspirierende Eindrücke und Erfahrungen. Ob Backpacker, Pauschalreisender oder 5- Sterne-Tourist - mit dem Lonely Planet „England“ kommen Sie ganz sicher gut durch das Land der Royals. Tipp: Erstellen Sie Ihren persönlichen Reiseplan durch Lesezeichen und Notizen... und durchsuchen Sie das E-Book mit der praktischen Volltextsuche!

Recommended Country Hotels of Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: FHG Guides

Publisher: Graphic Arts Books

ISBN: 9781850553854

Category: Travel

Page: 175

View: 1264

Planning a trip to the UK? FHG Guides are the perfect companions for any adventure in England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland. From B&Bs to golf courses to country hotels and pubs, these handy guides are complete with contact information, photos, descriptions, prices, facilities, and ratings for more than 400 towns and counties. Try the Cleaderscroft Hotel, a picturesque Victorian hotel in St. Agnes where you stay in spacious rooms just minutes from the beach and have a homemade breakfast every morning. Or visit the Hall Farm Guest House in Taunton where you can enjoy walking, riding, and fishing all within easy reach of the sea. Visit Ayrshire, Cornwall, and Fife in the best the UK has to offer. FHG Guides provide vital information in finding that perfect place to play a round of golf on pristine greens, spend the night at B&Bs that offer a sense of home and comfort, and savor the outstanding food.

Worldwide Destinations

The Geography of Travel and Tourism

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Brian G. Boniface,Chris Cooper

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN: 0750689471

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 644

View: 5987

This text provides coverage of worldwide tourism destinations, examining the basic principles underlying the geography of tourism demand, supply and transportation, together with a broad survey of world tourism generating and destination regions.

Geology of the Jurassic Coast

The Red Coast Revealed : Exmouth to Lyme Regis

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Richard Anthony Edwards

Publisher: Harbour Publishing

ISBN: 9780954484545

Category: Coasts

Page: 128

View: 6980

Nelson's Trafalgar

The Battle That Changed the World

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Roy Adkins

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440627290

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 5410

An explosive chronicle of history's greatest sea battle In the tradition of Antony Beevor's Stalingrad, Nelson's Trafalgar presents the definitive blow-by-blow account of the world's most famous naval battle, when the British Royal Navy under Lord Horatio Nelson dealt a decisive blow to the forces of Napoleon. The Battle of Trafalgar comes boldly to life in this definitive work that re-creates those five momentous, earsplitting hours with unrivaled detail and intensity.

Hudson's Historic Houses & Gardens 2010

Castles and Heritage Sites

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Heritage House Group,Hudson's

Publisher: Heritage House

ISBN: 9780851014463

Category: Architecture

Page: 608

View: 3377

The definitive guide to Britain's historic houses, gardens, castles and heritage sites.