Cold Fire

An unmissable thriller of suspense and the occult

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472202716

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 2935

A man with a rare gift. A cynical journalist. A dangerous enemy. Breath-taking and unique, Cold Fire is bestselling author Dean Koontz at his mesmerising best. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. 'Solid, satisfying, hair-raising Koontz barely lets the reader come up for air between terrors' - The Washington Post 'There is an Enemy. It is coming. It is relentless.' Schoolteacher Jim Ironheart flies on an impulse to Portland, Oregon. There he risks his life to save a child from being killed. Reporter Holly Thorne witnesses his heroism, and is impressed by his self-effacement when he declines to be interviewed. Burnt out, cynical, and looking for a life beyond journalism, Holly finds her newshound's instincts rekindled when she discovers Jim has quietly performed twelve last-minute rescues in twelve far-flung places over the past four months. Realising she is on to the biggest story of her life, Holly traces Jim to California. He insists he is not a psychic; he simply believes God is working through him. Holly thinks his explanation is too easy, that there is no wonder in life, no great mystery. She is dead wrong. For she and Jim are soon plunged into a dark sea of wonder, mystery - and stark terror. And, on the run for their lives, they will be forced to confront a savage and uncannily powerful adversary... What readers are saying about Cold Fire: 'From the first line I was swept away in the story. Twisting and turning to an unexpected ending!' 'Gripping, thrilling reading' 'Don't read with the light off!'

Filmfacts

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: American Film Institute,University of Southern California. Division of Cinema,Center for Understanding Media

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Motion pictures

Page: N.A

View: 5881

The Supernatural Index

A Listing of Fantasy, Supernatural, Occult, Weird, and Horror Anthologies

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Ashley,Mike Ashley,William Contento

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780313240300

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 933

View: 7601

Indexes story collections by editor, book title, author, and story title

Best Sellers

From the U.S. Government Printing Office

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Government publications

Page: N.A

View: 3270

Winters Herz

Roman

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Alison Littlewood

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3838745264

Category: Fiction

Page: 333

View: 1343

Cass und ihr Sohn Ben ziehen nach Darnshaw: ein ruhiges und abgelegenes Städtchen. Die Bewohner nehmen sie freundlich auf, doch schon bald erweist sich ihre Herzlichkeit als trügerisch. Immer stärker drängen sie in Cass' und Bens Leben, ziehen den Jungen immer mehr in ihre Fänge. Als der Wintereinbruch Darnshaw von der Außenwelt komplett abschneidet, geht das Grauen erst richtig los. Cass erkennt, dass Ben in großer Gefahr ist und die Bewohner einen schrecklichen Plan verfolgen. "Ein starkes Debüt! Einige Bilder begegneten mir in meinen Albträumen wieder" TTA Press.

Kirkus Reviews

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 9317

Kaltblütig

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Truman Capote

Publisher: Kein & Aber AG

ISBN: 3036992340

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 1391

Im November 1959 wird in Holcomb, Kansas, die vierköpfige Familie Clutter brutal ermordet. Wenige Wochen später werden die Täter Dick Hickock und Perry Smith auf der Flucht geschnappt. Truman Capote erfährt aus der New York Times von dem Verbrechen und beschließt, am Tatort zu recherchieren. Er spricht mit Bekannten und Freunden der Familie, mit der Polizei. Schließlich erhält er Gelegenheit, mit den beiden Mördern zu reden. Mit der Zeit gelingt es ihm, so viel Nähe zu ihnen herzustellen, dass sie ihm präzise Innenansichten ihrer Seele erlauben. Fast sechs Jahre nach ihrer Tat begleitet er sie bis an den Galgen. Capotes herausragende Rekonstruktion eines Mordes wurde eine Sensation und begründete ein neues literarisches Genre: die "non-fiction novel", den Tatsachenroman. In einer atemberaubenden Sprache erzählt er, wie aus Menschen Mörder werden. Mit Kaltblütig landete Capote einen internationalen Bestseller.

The New Yorker

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American wit and humor, Pictorial

Page: N.A

View: 7221

Der Fluch von Pendle Hill

Ein Fall für Frey und McGray 2

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Oscar de Muriel

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 364118682X

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 5386

Neujahr 1889. In Edinburghs berüchtigter Irrenanstalt ermordet ein gefährlicher Psychopath eine Krankenschwester. Kurz bevor ihm die Flucht gelingt, unterhält er sich mit einer jungen Patientin, die seit Jahren kein Wort gesprochen hat. Wieso hat sie ihr Schweigen gebrochen? Sind die Gerüchte von schwarzer Magie wahr, die in den Fluren der Anstalt kursieren? Inspector McGray geht der Fall sehr nahe, denn die junge Frau ist seine Schwester. Zusammen mit seinem Partner Ian Frey verfolgt er den Mörder durch das ganze Königreich – bis zum Pendle Hill, Sitz der gefürchteten Hexen von Lancashire, wo die beiden genialen Ermittler einem furchtbaren Geheimnis auf die Spur kommen ...

Children's Literature Review

Excerpts from Reviews, Criticism, & Commentary on Books for Children & Young People

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Tom Burns

Publisher: Gale

ISBN: 9780787696030

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 272

View: 2766

This illustrated series covers more than 600 writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Typical entries consist of a listing of major works and awards and criticism from significant reviews and commentaries on the author's or artist's works. Each volume includes cumulative author name and nationality indexes as well as a volume-specific title index. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately (included in subscription).

The Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman Volume 1: The Third Cry to Legba & Other Invocations

The Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman, Volume One

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Manly Wade Wellman

Publisher: Night Shade

ISBN: 9781892389077

Category: Fiction

Page: 305

View: 2744

Volume 1 (Third Cry to Legba and Other Invocations) collects Wellman’s John Thunstone and Lee Corbet stories. These stories (written between 1943 and 1979) combine the mystical and horrific with traditional southern folk tales and legends. At the same time, these stories reveal a post World War 2 modernism that make them much more then pulp romanticism. The paranoia and cynicism of modern weird icons such as the X-files may well have had their genesis in the pulp musings of Manly Wade Wellman. Indeed the intensely driven, idealistic occult investigator John Thunstone could be a pulp/noir stand in for Fox Mulder. This work will be issued in a fine collector's hardcover state, with 24 illustrations. Edited by John Pelan, illustrated by Kenneth Waters. Contents: * Introduction * The Third Cry to Legba * The Golden Goblins * Hoofs * The Letters of Cold Fire * John Thunstone's Inheritance * Sorcery from Thule * The Dead Man's Hand * Thorne of the Threshold * The Shonokins * Blood from a Stone * The Dai Sword * Twice Cursed * Shonokin Town * The Leonard Rondache * The Last Grave of Lill Warren * Rouse Him Not * The Dakwa * The Beasts That Perish * Willow He Walk * A Witch for All Seasons * Chastel Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Die Schatten von Edinburgh

Ein Fall für Frey und McGray 1

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Oscar de Muriel

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 3641186951

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 3916

Edinburgh, 1888. Der begnadete Ermittler Ian Frey wird von London nach Schottland zwangsversetzt. Für den kultivierten Engländer eine wahre Strafe. Als er seinen neuen Vorgesetzten, Inspector McGray, kennenlernt, findet er all seine Vorurteile bestätigt: Ungehobelt, abergläubisch und bärbeißig, hat der Schotte seinen ganz eigenen Ehrenkodex. Doch dann bringt ein schier unlösbarer Fall die beiden grundverschiedenen Männer zusammen: Ein Violinist wird grausam in seinem Heim ermordet. Sein aufgelöstes Dienstmädchen schwört, dass es in der Nacht drei Geiger im Musikzimmer gehört hat. Doch in dem von innen verschlossenen, fensterlosen Raum liegt nur die Leiche des Hausherren ...

Broken Monsters

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Lauren Beukes

Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3644542619

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 856

Detroit – Symbol für den Tod des American Dream. Zwischen Industrieruinen und Kunstprojekten geschieht Grässliches. Menschen werden ermordet und zu «Kunstwerken» arrangiert: ein Junge mit menschlichem Oberkörper und den Beinen eines Rehs. Eine Keramikkünstlerin als grausige Tonskulptur. Detective Gabriella Versado hat schon vieles gesehen, doch so etwas noch nie. Sie ahnt nicht, dass sie es mit einem Monster zu tun hat – mit jemandem, der von dem brutalen Traum besessen ist, die Welt nach seiner Vision neu zu erschaffen. Und der vor nichts zurückschreckt, um diesen Traum wahr werden zu lassen. «Niemals weniger als absolut fesselnd.» (Val McDermid) «Furchterregend und hypnotisch. Ich konnte es nicht aus der Hand legen – an Ihrer Stelle würde ich es mir sofort besorgen und lesen!» (Stephen King) «Im Ernst: Was für eine brillante Krimi-Phantasmagorie!!!! Dieser umwerfende Roman ist das neue Standardwerk zum urbanen Verfall. Jetzt lesen!» (James Ellroy) «Im allerbesten Sinne verstörend ... Eine Serienkillergeschichte, wie es sie noch nie gegeben hat.» (Kirkus Review) «Ein durchtrieben fieser Thriller, der wie wenige andere den Leser zum Nachdenken bringt.» (Telegraph) «Ein überragender Roman, voll lebendiger Figuren und fesselnder Dialoge.» (Times UK) «Nie voyeuristisch, nie oberflächlich, nie unkompliziert: Beukes zeigt, dass Horror der einzig mögliche Weg sein kann, unsere Realität begreifbar zu machen.» (The Guardian) «Ein ungewöhnlicher und packender Thriller.» (Sunday Express) «Ein grauenerregender Spannungsroman, der die Opfer in den Mittelpunkt stellt.» (Marie Claire) «Wie ein Ermittlerkrimi auf Halluzinogenen – brutal und hoch unterhaltsam.» (Evening Standard) «Beukes ist eine unwiderstehliche Erzählerin, die starke Figuren erschafft.» (Metro)