The Complete Guide to Stamps & Stamp Collecting

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Mackay

Publisher: Southwater

ISBN: 9781844777259

Category: Postage stamps

Page: 256

View: 2561

This is the ultimate guide to getting the most out the world's most popular hobby, with countless examples of rare, vivid and historical stamps spanning almost two centuries, plus advice on price and guidance about acquisition. Read some of the fascinating stories behind the world's most sought-after stamps, from the famous commemoratives of American presidents to issues from some of the most remote post offices in the world. Stamps trace the character and history of the country from which they originate, and this encyclopedic visual directory is a stunning account of some of the most bizarre, vivid and poignant examples ever created.

Collect British Stamps

A Stanley Gibbons Checklist of the Stamps of Great Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stanley Gibbons Ltd

Publisher: Stanley Gibbons Publications Limited

ISBN: 9780852598221

Category: Postage stamps

Page: 218

View: 4843

This all colour catalogue provides a straightforward, simplified listing of every British stamp from the Penny Black to Christmas 2011, with all commemorative designs illustrated for ease of use. With fully updated listing of the popular Post and Go stamps and a fully priced list of Royal Mail Philatelic, Numismatic and Medallic covers.

Miniature Messages

The Semiotics and Politics of Latin American Postage Stamps

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Jack Child

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 0822389274

Category: History

Page: 284

View: 4657

In Miniature Messages, Jack Child analyzes Latin American postage stamps, revealing the messages about history, culture, and politics encoded in their design and disseminated throughout the world. While postage stamps are a sanctioned product of official government agencies, Child argues that they accumulate popular cultural value and take on new meanings as they circulate in the public sphere. As he demonstrates in this richly illustrated study, the postage stamp conveys many of the contestations and triumphs of Latin American history. Child combines history and political science with philatelic research of nearly forty thousand Latin American stamps. He focuses on Argentina and the Southern Cone, highlighting stamps representing the consolidation of the Argentine republic and those produced under its Peronist regime. He compares Chilean stamps issued by the leftist government of Salvador Allende and by Augusto Pinochet’s dictatorship. Considering postage stamps produced under other dictatorial regimes, he examines stamps from the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Nicaragua, and Paraguay. Child studies how international conflicts have been depicted on the stamps of Argentina, Chile, and Peru, and he pays particular attention to the role of South American and British stamps in establishing claims to the Malvinas/Falkland Islands and to Antarctica. He also covers the cultural and political history of stamps in Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Grenada, Mexico, Uruguay, Venezuela and elsewhere. In Miniature Messages, Child finds the political history of modern Latin America in its “tiny posters.”

2018 Us/Bna Stamp Catalog

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Whitman Publishing

Publisher: Whitman Publishing

ISBN: 9780794845261

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 394

View: 2296

2018 COMMONWEALTH & EMPIRE STAMPS 1840-1970

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Hugh Jefferies

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781911304029

Category: Postage stamps

Page: 736

View: 8222

Comprehensively illustrated, this is the world-recognised catalogue covering Great Britain and the British Commonwealth countries and is accepted as the standard guide to postage stamps value.

How to Identify Stamps

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stanley Gibbons

Publisher: Stanley Gibbons Publications Limited

ISBN: 9780852598399

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 483

The World Encyclopedia of Stamps and Stamp Collecting

The Ultimate Illustrated Reference to Over 3000 of the World's Best Stamps, and a Professional Guide to Starting and Perfecting a Spectacular Collection

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Mackay

Publisher: Hermes House

ISBN: 9781846818837

Category: Postage stamps

Page: 256

View: 5036

A fascinating history of collecting, visual directory of stamps, and guidance on acquiring your own.

Designing Your Life

How to Build a Well-Lived, Joyful Life

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bill Burnett,Dave Evans

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN: 110187533X

Category: Self-Help

Page: 272

View: 1318

#1 New York Times Bestseller At last, a book that shows you how to build—design—a life you can thrive in, at any age or stage Designers create worlds and solve problems using design thinking. Look around your office or home—at the tablet or smartphone you may be holding or the chair you are sitting in. Everything in our lives was designed by someone. And every design starts with a problem that a designer or team of designers seeks to solve. In this book, Bill Burnett and Dave Evans show us how design thinking can help us create a life that is both meaningful and fulfilling, regardless of who or where we are, what we do or have done for a living, or how young or old we are. The same design thinking responsible for amazing technology, products, and spaces can be used to design and build your career and your life, a life of fulfillment and joy, constantly creative and productive, one that always holds the possibility of surprise. "Designing Your Life walks readers through the process of building a satisfying, meaningful life by approaching the challenge the way a designer would. Experimentation. Wayfinding. Prototyping. Constant iteration. You should read the book. Everyone else will." —Daniel Pink, bestselling author of Drive “This [is] the career book of the next decade and . . . the go-to book that is read as a rite of passage whenever someone is ready to create a life they love.” —David Kelley, Founder of IDEO “An empowering book based on their popular class of the same name at Stanford University . . . Perhaps the book’s most important lesson is that the only failure is settling for a life that makes one unhappy. With useful fact-finding exercises, an empathetic tone, and sensible advice, this book will easily earn a place among career-finding classics.” —Publishers Weekly From the Hardcover edition.

Municipal Dreams

The Rise and Fall of Council Housing

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Boughton

Publisher: Verso Books

ISBN: 1784787426

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 3267

A narrative history of council housing—from slums to the Grenfell Tower Urgent, timely and compelling, Municipal Dreams brilliantly brings the national story of housing to life. In this landmark reappraisal of council housing, historian John Boughton presents an alternative history of Britain. Rooted in the ambition to end slum living, and the ideals of those who would build a new society, Municipal Dreams looks at how the state’s duty to house its people decently became central to our politics. The book makes it clear why that legacy and its promise should be defended. Traversing the nation in this comprehensive social, political and architectural history of council housing, Boughton offers a tour of some of the best and most remarkable of our housing estates—some happily ordinary, some judged notorious. He asks us to understand their complex story and to rethink our prejudices. His accounts include extraordinary planners and architects who wished to elevate working men and women through design; the competing ideologies that have promoted state housing and condemned it; the economic factors that have always constrained our housing ideals; the crisis wrought by Right to Buy; and the evolving controversies around regeneration. Boughton shows how losing the dream of good housing has weakened our community and hurt its most vulnerable—as was seen most catastrophically in the fire at Grenfell Tower.

The One-Cent Magenta

Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: James Barron

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 1616207175

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 6564

An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world’s most sought-after stamp. When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby’s for nearly $9.5 million, the largest amount ever paid for a postage stamp at auction. Through the stories of the eccentric characters who have bought, owned, and sold the one-cent magenta in the years in between, James Barron delivers a fascinating tale of global history and immense wealth, and of the human desire to collect. One-cent magentas were provisional stamps, printed quickly in what was then British Guiana when a shipment of official stamps from London did not arrive. They were intended for periodicals, and most were thrown out with the newspapers. But one stamp survived. The singular one-cent magenta has had only nine owners since a twelve-year-old boy discovered it in 1873 as he sorted through papers in his uncle’s house. He soon sold it for what would be $17 today. (That’s been called the worst stamp deal in history.) Among later owners was a fabulously wealthy Frenchman who hid the stamp from almost everyone (even King George V of England couldn’t get a peek); a businessman who traveled with the stamp in a briefcase he handcuffed to his wrist; and John E. du Pont, an heir to the chemical fortune, who died while serving a thirty-year sentence for the murder of Olympic wrestler Dave Schultz. Recommended for fans of Nicholas A. Basbanes, Susan Orlean, and Simon Winchester, The One-Cent Magenta explores the intersection of obsessive pursuits and great affluence and asks why we want most what is most rare.

Collect British Postmarks

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Stanley Gibbons

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780852598962

Category: Postmarks

Page: 425

View: 1228

9th edition, The Handbook to British postmarks and their Values.

Scott 2018 Specialized Catalgoue of United States Stamps & Covers

Scott 2018 Us Specialized

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Donna Houseman

Publisher: Scott Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780894875298

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 1368

View: 3639

This is the 150th Anniversary of Scott Catalogues. The Scott Catalogue of postage stamps, published by Scott Publishing Co, is updated annually and lists all the stamps of the entire world which its editors recognize as issued for postal purposes. It is published in eight large volumes that include six volumes containing all the countries of the world that have ever issued postage stamps, the United States Specialized Catalog, and the 1840-1940 Classic Specialized Catalogue (covering the world for the first 100 years that stamps were issued). The numbering system used by Scott to identify stamps is dominant among stamp collectors in the United States, Canada and Mexico. The Scott Catalogues is the leader in the stamp market and a must for all collectors and researchers.