SPQR

Die tausendjährige Geschichte Roms

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Beard

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104031444

Category: History

Page: 656

View: 9757

Wer hätte gedacht, dass Alte Geschichte so spannend und gegenwärtig sein kann? – Ein neuer Blick auf das alte Rom! Unkonventionell, scharfsinnig und zugleich akademisch versiert – dies trifft nicht nur auf die hochrenommierte Althistorikerin und Cambridge-Professorin Mary Beard selbst zu, sondern auch auf ihre neue große Geschichte des Römischen Reichs und seiner Bewohner: SPQR - Die tausendjährige Geschichte Roms. Begeistert erzählt sie die Geschichte eines Weltreichs, lässt uns Kriege, Exzesse, Intrigen miterleben, aber auch den römischen Alltag – wie Ärger in den Mietshäusern und Ciceros Scheidung. Sie lässt uns hinter die Legenden und Mythen blicken, hinterfragt sicher Geglaubtes und kommt zu überraschenden Einsichten. So erscheint Rom ganz nah – in seinen Debatten über Integration und Migration – und dann doch auch faszinierend fern, wenn es etwa um Sklaverei geht. Die Geschichte Roms für unsere Zeit. In prächtiger Ausstattung, mit über hundert s/w Abbildungen und umfangreichem farbigen Bildteil. »Bahnbrechend [...], anregend [...], revolutionär [...] ein völlig neuer Zugang zur Alten Geschichte.« Spectator »Aufregend, psychologisch scharfsinnig sowie mitfühlend kritisch.« Sunday Times »Meisterhaft [...], diese große Geschichte Roms erweckt die ferne Vergangenheit grandios zum Leben.« The Economist »Ungemein packend [...] ebenso unterhaltsam wie gelehrt.« Observer »Wer hätte gedacht, dass Geschichte so spannend sein kann?« Independent

The History of Rome: The Republic

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mike Duncan

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 1365331318

Category: History

Page: 434

View: 5638

THE ROMAN EMPIRE STANDS as the greatest political achievement in the history of Western civilization. From its humble beginnings as a tiny kingdom in central Italy, Rome grew to envelope the entire Mediterranean until it ruled an empire that stretched from the Atlantic to Syria and from the Sahara to Scotland. Its enduring legacy continues to define the modern world. Mike Duncan chronicled the rise, triumph, and fall of the Roman Empire in his popular podcast series "The History of Rome". Transcripts of the show have been edited and collected here for the first time. Covering episodes 1-46, The History of Rome Volume I opens with the founding of the Roman Kingdom and ends with the breakdown of the Roman Republic. Along the way Rome will steadily grow from local power to regional power to global power. The Romans will triumph over their greatest foreign rivals and then nearly destroy themselves in a series of destructive civil wars. This is the story of the rise of Rome.

Römische Geschichte, Band 1

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Theodor Mommsen

Publisher: Jazzybee Verlag

ISBN: 3849683222

Category: History

Page: 200

View: 7938

Mommsens berühmtestes Werk erschien von 1854 bis 1856 und schildert die Geschichte Roms bis zum Ende der römischen Republik und der Herrschaft Caesars, den Mommsen als genialen Staatsmann darstellte. Die politischen Auseinandersetzungen vor allem der späten Republik werden auch in der Terminologie mit den politischen Entwicklungen des 19. Jahrhunderts (Nationalstaat, Demokratie) verglichen. Das engagiert geschriebene Werk gilt als Klassiker der Geschichtsschreibung. Dies ist Band 1, bis zur Abschaffung des römischen Königtums.

The History of Rome

The Republic

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mike Duncan

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780692681664

Category:

Page: 480

View: 9479

THE ROMAN EMPIRE STANDS as the greatest political achievement in the history of Western civilization. From its humble beginnings as a tiny kingdom in central Italy, Rome grew to envelope the entire Mediterranean until it ruled an empire that stretched from the Atlantic to Syria and from the Sahara to Scotland. Its enduring legacy continues to define the modern world. Mike Duncan chronicled the rise, triumph, and fall of the Roman Empire in his popular podcast series "The History of Rome." Transcripts of the show have been edited and collected here for the first time. Covering episodes 1-46, The History of Rome Volume I opens with the founding of the Roman Kingdom and ends with the breakdown of the Roman Republic. Along the way Rome will steadily grow from local power to regional power to global power. The Romans will triumph over their greatest foreign rivals and then nearly destroy themselves in a series of destructive civil wars. This is the story of the rise of Rome.

A Primer History of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mandell Creighton,John C. Traupman

Publisher: Bolchazy-Carducci Publishers

ISBN: 9781898855392

Category: History

Page: 160

View: 6332

Now reissued, Creighton's enormously popular work provides an exceptionally readable account of the heroes and history of Ancient Rome for both teachers and students. Accessible and excelling in detail, this book presents the full story of the rise and fall of one of the greatest empires ever known. The simple and engaging style of Creighton's History of Rome starts with the founding of Rome and works through to the influence of Rome in the modern world.

A History of Roman Britain

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Salway

Publisher: Oxford Paperbacks

ISBN: 9780192801388

Category: History

Page: 594

View: 7513

'There will be new discoveries; but this is a book that will surely stand the test of time.' -TLS

A History of Roman Art

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Fred S. Kleiner

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 1305885120

Category: Art

Page: 384

View: 6318

Winner of the prestigious TAA Textbook Excellence Award, A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART has been updated to reflect scholarship advances of the past decade, and dramatically expands the lavish photographic documentation of the first edition with more than 400 new color photographs in the text. A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART surveys the art of Rome and its empire from the time of Romulus to the death of Constantine presented in its historical, political, and social context. Divided into four parts (Italy before and during the Republic; and the Early, High, and Late Empires), each of the 21 chapters combines a discussion of general issues and individual monuments with a series of boxed essays on architectural terminology; materials and techniques; religion and mythology; the cultural context of works of art; the role of patrons; and the problems that ancient artists and architects faced and how they solved them. Special chapters are devoted to Pompeii and Herculaneum and funerary and provincial art in all media. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

History of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Grant

Publisher: Scribner Book Company

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 537

View: 9449

SPQR

A History of Ancient Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Mary Beard

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN: 184765441X

Category: History

Page: 606

View: 8315

Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller Shortlisted for a British Book Industry Book of the Year Award 2016 The new series Ultimate Rome: Empire Without Limit is on BBC2 now Ancient Rome matters. Its history of empire, conquest, cruelty and excess is something against which we still judge ourselves. Its myths and stories - from Romulus and Remus to the Rape of Lucretia - still strike a chord with us. And its debates about citizenship, security and the rights of the individual still influence our own debates on civil liberty today. SPQR is a new look at Roman history from one of the world's foremost classicists. It explores not only how Rome grew from an insignificant village in central Italy to a power that controlled territory from Spain to Syria, but also how the Romans thought about themselves and their achievements, and why they are still important to us. Covering 1,000 years of history, and casting fresh light on the basics of Roman culture from slavery to running water, as well as exploring democracy, migration, religious controversy, social mobility and exploitation in the larger context of the empire, this is a definitive history of ancient Rome. SPQR is the Romans' own abbreviation for their state: Senatus Populusque Romanus, 'the Senate and People of Rome'.

A History of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Robert Fowler Leighton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Rome

Page: 521

View: 8234

The Immense Majesty

A History of Rome and the Roman Empire

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Thomas W. Africa

Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 437

View: 354

Integrates social, economic, cultural and religious aspects of Roman life with the rise and fall of the Republic. The author explores the achievements and decay of the imperial system to the time of Justinian and provides information about Roman women.

A history of Rome

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Erik Christiansen

Publisher: Bolchazy Carducci Pub

ISBN: 9780865162693

Category: History

Page: 221

View: 7040

A History of Rome under the Emperors

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Theodor Mommsen

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0203979087

Category: History

Page: 656

View: 5006

This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century. Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome - which ran to the reign of Augustus - was never completed. This book represents that great lost work. In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, A History of Rome Under the Emperors. Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Professor Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers.